Dutch National Ballet 2013 | 2014 season

March 7, 2013

Press Releases

Dutch National Ballet 2013 | 2014 season

dutch national ballet

*The Dutch National Ballet launches the Junior  Company

* World premiere of full-length production by Krzysztof Pastor – The Tempest

* World premieres by Hans van Manen/Remy van Kesteren, Jorma Elo/Viktor &  Rolf, Ton Simons/Rineke Dijkstra and Juanjo Arqués/Krijn de Koning

* European premiere by Alexei Ratmansky and Dutch premiere by Emio Greco/Pieter  C. Scholten

* Gala to open the new season

* Revivals of Don Quichotte, The Sleeping Beauty, The Dream and Paquita

* Ted Brandsen’s 10th anniversary as director of the Dutch National Ballet

On the eve of a challenging new season, the  Dutch National Ballet is looking artistically stronger than ever. With  successful big new productions, prominent choreographers and acclaimed dancers,  the company has firmly anchored its international reputation in recent years as
one of Europe’s leading companies.

This season too – the tenth under the artistic leadership of Ted Brandsen – the  Dutch National Ballet is presenting a rich and varied programme of five world  premieres, two Dutch premieres, a Gala to open the season, favourite  classics like Don Quichotte, The Sleeping Beauty and The Dream,  and new interpretations of well-known works.

The season also sees the start of the Junior Company: a new company of top  young talented dancers.

The Junior Company

In founding the Junior Company, the Dutch National Ballet is stimulating young  talent in the field of dance. The company comprises twelve young, extremely  talented dancers: six who have just started their dancing career with the Dutch  National Ballet and six talented students of the National Ballet Academy, who  are all set to grow into the stars of tomorrow and the principals of the  future. From November 2013, the group will be touring the Netherlands with an  enticing programme of parts of the classical and neoclassical repertoire, and a  new ballet creation. The talented youngsters will also be dancing in the big  productions by the Dutch National Ballet. This makes the Junior Company a
wonderful springboard for young dancers.

Ernst Meisner, known from the Dutch National Canta Ballet and a former dancer with the Dutch National Ballet, is the artistic coordinator of the  Junior Company.

The Junior Company is a cooperative venture between the Dutch National Ballet  and the National Ballet Academy, part of De Theaterschool Amsterdam (AHK).

Five world premieres

Krzysztof Pastor, resident choreographer with the Dutch National Ballet, is  presenting a new full-length ballet: an interpretation of Shakespeare’s The  Tempest. Pastor is collaborating on this production with the Iranian  photographer and film and video artist Shirin Neshat, based in New York. Neshat is known mainly for the subtle yet revealing way in which her work exposes the isolated position of women in the Islamic world.

In Dutch Doubles, the Dutch National Ballet is bringing together four leading choreographers working in the Netherlands and four world-famous Dutch  artists from other disciplines, in four world premieres. Hans van Manen,  resident choreographer with the Dutch National Ballet, will be working with the  23-year-old harpist Remy van Kesteren. Jorma Elo, creating his first work for  the Dutch National Ballet, will be working with fashion designers Viktor &  Rolf. Ton Simons is teaming up with photographer Rineke Dijkstra and Juanjo  Arqués with visual artist Krijn de Koning.

European and Dutch premieres

Besides reviving the great international success Don Quichotte, by the  leading Russian choreographer Alexei Ratmansky, the company is also presenting  the European premiere of Ratmansky’s Firebird, in a co-production by the  Dutch National Ballet and American Ballet Theatre.

The second premiere for the Netherlands is Le Corps DU BALLET by Emio  Greco and Pieter C. Scholten. This marks the start of a new collaboration to be  developed over the coming years.

2013 | 2014 season

GALA

Surprise programme, opening of the new season.

Sat 7 September 2013 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

CORPS

Les Sylphides

choreography: Michel Fokine

music: Frédéric Chopin

Corps

choreography: Hans van Manen

music: Alban Berg

Le Corps DU BALLET – Dutch premiere

choreography: Emio Greco and Pieter C. Scholten

music and sound design: Sébastien Gaxie and Pieter C. Scholten

Wed 11 to Sun 29 September 2013 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

DON QUICHOTTE

choreography: Alexei Ratmansky, after Marius Petipa and Alexander Gorsky

music: Ludwig Minkus

Sat 12 October to Sun 3 November 2013 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

THE SLEEPING BEAUTY

choreography: Marius Petipa

produced and directed by: Sir Peter Wright

music: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Thurs 12 December 2013 to Wed 1 January 2014 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

NEW MOVES

Since Ted Brandsen became director of the Dutch National Ballet in 2003, every  year the company has organised New Moves, a short series of performances in  which company dancers can discover and develop their talents as a  choreographer.

Fri 7 and Sat 8 February 2014, Frascati Amsterdam

FAIRYTALES

Firebird – European premiere

choreography: Alexei Ratmansky

music: Igor Stravinsky

The Dream

choreography: Sir Frederick Ashton

music: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Sat 1 to Sun 16 March 2014 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

DUTCH DOUBLES

World premiere

choreography: Hans van Manen

harpist: Remy van Kesteren

World premiere

choreography: Jorma Elo

designs: Viktor & Rolf

World premiere

choreography: Ton Simons

photographer: Rineke Dijkstra

World premiere

choreography: Juanjo Arqués

visual artist: Krijn de Koning

Wed 16 April to Wed May 2014 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

BALLERINA

Paquita

choreography: Marius Petipa, adapted by Rachel Beaujean

music: Ludwig Minkus, Edouard Deldevez, Adolphe Adam, Riccardo Drigo,

Nikolai Tcherepnin and Yuli Gerber, arranged by John Lanchbery

Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux

choreography: George Balanchine

music: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Trois Gnossiennes

choreography: Hans van Manen

music: Erik Satie

Without Words

choreography: Hans van Manen

music: Hugo Wolf

Duet

choreography: Christopher Wheeldon

music: Maurice Ravel

Wed 14 to Tues 20 May 2014 – The Amsterdam Music Theatre

THE TEMPEST

world premiere

choreography: Krzysztof Pastor in collaboration with Shirin Neshat

music: Henry Purcell, Thomas Tallis and other composers, and traditional  Iranian music

Wed 18 to Sun 29 June 2014, The Amsterdam Music Theatre

TOURING PROGRAMMES IN THE NETHERLANDS

The Dutch National Ballet is presenting two special programmes that will tour  the Netherlands: Stars/Corps and Dreams. The Junior Company will  go on tour to several theatres in the Netherlands from November to May.

THE JUNIOR COMPANY

Fri 22 Nov
Spijkenisse        Theater De Stoep  (try-out)

Sun 24 Nov        Amsterdam  Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam (premiere)

Sat 30 Nov         Zaltbommel  Theater de Poorterij

Sun 1 Dec
Heerlen  Parkstad Limburg Theaters

Tues 10 Dec
Gouda  De Goudse Schouwburg

Sat 15 March         Hengelo  Rabotheater

Sun 16 March
Zwolle  Odeon De Spiegel

Fri 21 March
Zaandam          Zaantheater

Sat 22 March
Hoofddorp         Schouwburg De Meerse

Sun 23 March
Tilburg  Theaters Tilburg

Sat 29 March
IJmuiden  Stadsschouwburg Velsen

Sun 30 March
Delft  Theater de Veste

Fri 4 April
Leiden  Leidse Schouwburg

Sat 5 April
Roosendaal       Schouwburg De Kring

Sun 6 April
Enschede  Wilminktheater

Fri 11 April
Emmen  Theater De Muzeval

Sat 12 April
Lelystad  Agora Theater

Mon 14 April         Heerhugowaard
COOL

Fri 18 April
Hoorn  Schouwburg Het Park

Sat 19 April          The  Hague          Korzo-theater

Mon 21 April
Tiel  Schouwburg Agnietenhof

Thurs 24 April
Almere  Schouwburg Almere

Fri 2 May
Haarlem  Stadsschouwburg Haarlem

Sun 4 May
Helmond  Theater Speelhuis

Fri 9 May
Amsterdam        De Meervaart

Sun 11 May
Alkmaar  Theater de Vest

Thurs 15 May        Den Helder  Kampagne

Fri 16 May         Bergen op Zoom De Maagd

Sat 17 May        Leeuwarden  Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie

STARS/CORPS

Les Sylphides

choreography: Michel Fokine

music: Frédéric Chopin

Corps

choreography: Hans van Manen

music: Alban Berg

Variations for two couples

choreography: Hans van Manen

music: Benjamin Britten, Einojuhani Rautavaara, Stefan Kovàcs Tickmayer and  Astor Piazolla

Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux

choreography: George Balanchine

music: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Wed 18 Sep   The Hague    Lucent Danstheater

Mon 23 Sep    Utrecht  Stadsschouwburg, Utrecht

Wed 25 Sep    Heerlen      Parkstad
Limburg Theaters

DREAMS

The Dream

choreography: Sir Frederick Ashton

music: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Paquita

choreography: Marius Petipa, adapted by Rachel Beaujean

music: Ludwig Minkus, Edouard Deldevez, Adolphe Adam, Riccardo Drigo, Nikolai Tcherepnin and Yuli Gerber, arranged by John Lanchbery

Wed 21 May   Arnhem       Schouwburg

Fri 23 May    The Hague    Lucent Danstheater

Sat 24 May    Maastricht  Theater aan het Vrijthof

Tues 27 May     Zwolle  Odeon De Spiegel

Fri 30 May    Utrecht  Stadsschouwburg

Sat 31 May    Groningen  Stadsschouwburg

INTERNATIONAL TOUR

The Dutch National Ballet receives many invitations to perform abroad, which  has led in recent years to tours in China, France, Turkey, Germany, Sweden and  England. In the 2013 – 2014 season, the company will be a guest in Colombia.

Giselle

choreography: Petipa/Coralli/Perrot/Beaujean/Bustamante

Fri 8 Nov      Bogotá  Colombia

Sat 9 Nov     Bogotá      Colombia

Sun 10 Nov   Bogotá     Colombia

Balanchine | Van Manen | Ratmansky

Hans van Manen: Variations for two Couples

Alexei Ratmansky: Souvenir d’un lieu cher (subject to change)

George Balanchine: Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux

Hans van Manen: Corps

Tues 12 Nov    Cali  Colombia

Wed 13 Nov    Cali  Colombia

The Junior Company receives financial support from the Gieskes Strijbis Foundation

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.