National Ballet of Canada | Principal Dancers Guillaume Côté and Jillian Vanstone Recognized for Excellence in Dance

ballet in canada logo

National Ballet of Canada | Principal Dancers Guillaume Côté and Jillian Vanstone Recognized for Excellence in Dance

Guillaume Côté and Jillian Vanstone, Principal Dancers with The National Ballet of Canada, are being recognized for excellence in dance and culture. Mr. Côté will receive the Medal of the National Assembly of Québec on February 28, 2012 during a ceremony held at the Parliament Building in Québec. Ms. Vanstone will be awarded the Excellence in Culture Award by the City of Nanaimo for her significant contribution to Nanaimo’s cultural sector on Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at the Port Theatre in Nanaimo.

Mr. Côté, a native of Lac-Saint-Jean, Québec, has been a Principal Dancer with the National Ballet since 2004. He will dance Prince Florimund in The Sleeping Beauty, March 10 – 18, 2012 and the role of Kostya in The Seagull, March 21 – 25, 2012.

Ms. Vanstone was born in Nanaimo, British Columbia and became a Principal Dancer in 2011. She makes her debut as Lise in La Fille mal gardée, February 29 – March 4, 2012 and will dance the role of Nina in The Seagull.

The 2011/12 Season is presented by CTV and The Globe and Mail.

ballet company logoCelebrating 60 Years of Partnership with The Volunteer Committee, The National Ballet of Canada.


World MasterCard presents The Sleeping Beauty.

The Sleeping Beauty is made possible by generous contributions from Margaret & Jim Fleck, The Catherine & Maxwell Meighen Foundation, Sandra & Jim Pitblado, Gretchen Ross and Nancy Pencer & Michael Benjamin.

The Seagull is generously supported in part by an anonymous friend of the National Ballet.

Guillaume Côté is sponsored through Dancers First by Emmanuelle Gattuso & Allan Slaight.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada through the Honourable James Moore, Minister, the Department of Canadian Heritage; the Government of Ontario; the Ontario Arts Foundation; the Ontario Trillium Foundation; and the Ontario Cultural Attractions Fund.