Designers Asher Israelow, Egg Collective and Token


Selected for 2012-2013 Launch of New Design Initiative


On Tuesday, September 25, New York City Ballet will unveil new collections of seating and lounge furniture on the Promenade of the David H. Koch Theater, featuring the work of three contemporary New York-based designers, Asher Israelow, Egg Collective and Token.

The three unique seating areas will consist of pieces that draw inspiration from NYCB as well as the architecture of the David H. Koch Theater, which was designed in 1964 by Philip Johnson. Their seating areas will be in place on the theater’s Promenade for the duration of NYCB’s 2012-2013 Season.

The creation of new work has always been essential to NYCB’s core mission. Since its inception in 1948, the Company has premiered more than 450 original works and commissioned nearly 50 original scores. In line with this tradition of new work, this design initiative aims to breathe new life into the David H. Koch Theater Promenade space, and support the promotion of young, local design firms while also honoring the modernist design legacy of the iconic New York City venue.

Once again this season the lobbies of the David H. Koch Theater will open one hour prior to curtain time, offering audience members more time before performances to enjoy the theater’s amenities, including the theater’s food and beverage concessions and gift shops, as well as these newly designed seating and lounge options on the Promenade.



is comprised of Crystal Ellis, Stephanie Beamer, and Hillary Petrie. They are a Brooklyn-based design company committed to building American-made furniture that merges heirloom-quality craftsmanship with contemporary design. The ladies of Egg Collective do their own woodwork in their shop near the Brooklyn Navy Yard. Anything unable to be made in a wood shop is sourced out to small-scale local craftsmen and artisans. Their designs often draw inspiration from architecture, nature, traditional furniture construction, and fashion. Most of their work combines multiple materials and finishes. They were named “Best New Designer” at the 2012 ICFF Editors Awards.




was born in New York City and graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with degrees in fine arts and architecture. Currently, he designs buildings and builds furniture from his studio in the Brooklyn Navy Yard. Drawing on his training as an architect and a love of lore, Israelow creates work for the modern explorer. Each piece narrates the story of its materials. All the wood is ethically and locally sourced, building upon the importance of origins. The studio produces all original and small batch pieces built to last for generations. The work emphasizes a handcrafted and emergent vision of contemporary design.




is a Brooklyn-based design and manufacturing studio that develops contemporary handcrafted furniture and lighting objects embodying the evolving intentions of American modernism. Observation and a careful consideration of function, structural ingenuity, material dynamics and aesthetic coherence are instilled in each of Token’s signature pieces. The result is a collection aimed at providing elements for purposeful, considered living. The principals of Token are Will Kavesh and Emrys Berkower.




Subscription series packages for NYCB’s 2012-13 season, which provide savings of up to 20% off single ticket prices, are now available through the NYCB subscription office at 212-496-0600. Single tickets for all 2012-2013 repertory performances are now on sale at the David H. Koch Theater box office, by phone at 212-496-0600, and online at

Major funding for New York City Ballet is provided by:


Harriet Ford Dickenson Foundation/Miss Gillian Attfield


Booth Ferris Foundation


The Ford Foundation


The Florence Gould Foundation


Marlene Hess and James D. Zirin


Geoffrey C. Hughes Foundation


The Leon Levy Foundation


Lincoln Center Corporate Fund


LuEsther T. Mertz Charitable Trust


The Ambrose Monell Foundation


Mary P. Oenslager Foundation Fund of the New York Community Trust


The Jerome Robbins Foundation


The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation


The Shubert Foundation


Joseph and Sylvia Slifka Foundation


Michael and Sue Steinberg


The Travelers Companies, Inc.


John L. and Barbara Vogelstein


Major support for new work is provided by:


Members of the New Combinations Fund, the Rockefeller Brothers Fund, Jeffrey and Shiou-Der Kossak, Stephen Kroll Reidy, and The West Family Trust.


Christopher Wheeldon’s new work for New York City Ballet’s 2012-2014 seasons is made possible with a leadership gift from Michele and Lawrence Herbert.


Major support for Justin Peck’s new work is made possible by The Rudolf Nureyev Fund for Emerging Choreographers, established through a leadership grant from the Rudolf Nureyev Dance Foundation with additional grants from the Harriet Ford Dickenson Foundation, the Joseph and Sylvia Slifka Foundation, and the New York Choreographic Institute.


New York City Ballet gratefully acknowledges the Lila Acheson and DeWitt Wallace Endowment Fund, which provides support for new work and audience development.


New York City Ballet’s musical leadership is endowed in part by the Agnes Gund and Daniel Shapiro Fund for Musical Excellence.


The creation and performance of works by Peter Martins is funded in part by an endowment gift from the Solomon family, given in loving memory of Carolyn B. Solomon.


New York City Ballet’s performances of works by George Balanchine are supported in part by the Balanchine Production Fund, an endowment created through The Campaign for New York City Ballet.


New York City Ballet’s student matinees are generously underwritten by Mrs. Ralph Kern.


Support for New York City Ballet’s specially-priced performance is provided in part by a generous grant from The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation.


Public support for New York City Ballet programming is provided by:


New York City Department of Cultural Affairs


National Endowment for the Arts


New York State Council on the Arts


American Airlines is New York City Ballet’s Official Airline.